Posted by: sisterbernice | July 2, 2010

Let’s pray

It’s Friday and there is more activity blaming the Pope for the scandal.  Because I so totally despise the New York Times now, I can’t provide the link – they’ll interpret it as interest!  This time even Michael Winters at the National Catholic Reporter rebuts them – liberals going after liberals.  I read a blog in which some were blaming Ratzinger because he was more concerned with spiritual matters – I find that ironic. 

There is enough blame to go around – it is time for forgiveness and healing.  Again, I find great meaning in attacks appearing around a Friday.  The Holy Father has asked us to pray on Fridays – have you/do you, or do you “buy into” another agenda?  Nothing can undo what has happened and  many victims cannot get the justice they deserve.  Many are also not seeking justice but vengeance.  Innocent victims persecuting the innocent only leads to more violence, more………  No, we must beg the Lord for his help and mercy on this and we must not get distracted from that goal.

Today’s reading should give us pause for reflection:

  Mt 9:9-13:

As Jesus passed by,
he saw a man named Matthew sitting at the customs post.
He said to him, “Follow me.”
And he got up and followed him.
While he was at table in his house,
many tax collectors and sinners came
and sat with Jesus and his disciples.
The Pharisees saw this and said to his disciples,
“Why does your teacher eat with tax collectors and sinners?”
He heard this and said,
“Those who are well do not need a physician, but the sick do.
Go and learn the meaning of the words,
I desire mercy, not sacrifice.
I did not come to call the righteous but sinners.”

found at http://www.usccb.org/nab/070210.shtml

I wish I could say I have figured out how to link back to old posts but I haven’t – yet.  But again, I am praying the rosary every Friday, abstaining from meat on Fridays, and saying all the prayers I have copied and linked in these posts.  On first Fridays, I go to Eucharistic Adoration, however, for the past two weeks we have been away from the home parish and I did not have the opportunity to do so today.   I hope some of you did.

And, all people of goodwill should recognize not only the power of prayer but also that the sex abuse in the Church is a reflection of a bigger societal ill – most are abused at home – they are voiceless – besides the Church in general, the Irish church in particular, the victims of clergy abuse, let our prayers also be directed for all who suffer.

Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Categories

