Posted by: sisterbernice | July 30, 2010

Faith, faithfulness

I’ve written before on faith and faithfulness.  Today’s readings remind us of the power of faith and our relationship with the Master.  How little faith we all have and so it is no wonder that the muster seed of faith is considered a mighty amount.  As I write, I’m writing to myself as much as to anyone who might be reading.  We must have faith.  Faith and persistence in prayer will lead to healing and to conversion.  Forgiveness is a necessary part of healing.  Let us forgive as well.

Today’s readings uplifted me – in particular the Responsorial Psalm and the Gospel.  They seem to be the message I needed to hear today.   I continue my Friday prayer habits as usual and have so far abstained from meat but I keep forgetting it’s Friday. The week went fast and I still have Tuesdays report on my desk and it needs to be gone.  However, this is my priority during my lunch today as I will not be near the computer tonight!

I pray for healing, for priests and for the Lord to find faith when he looks down upon us.

from:  http://www.usccb.org/nab/073010.shtml

Ps 69:5, 8-10, 14

R. (14c) Lord, in your great love, answer me.
Those outnumber the hairs of my head
who hate me without cause.
Too many for my strength
are they who wrongfully are my enemies.
Must I restore what I did not steal?
R. Lord, in your great love, answer me.
Since for your sake I bear insult,
and shame covers my face.
I have become an outcast to my brothers,
a stranger to my mother’s sons,
Because zeal for your house consumes me,
and the insults of those who blaspheme you fall upon me.
R. Lord, in your great love, answer me.
But I pray to you, O LORD,
for the time of your favor, O God!
In your great kindness answer me
with your constant help.
R. Lord, in your great love, answer me.

Mt 13:54-58:

Jesus came to his native place and taught the people in their synagogue.
They were astonished and said,
“Where did this man get such wisdom and mighty deeds?
Is he not the carpenter’s son?
Is not his mother named Mary
and his brothers James, Joseph, Simon, and Judas?
Are not his sisters all with us?
Where did this man get all this?”
And they took offense at him.
But Jesus said to them,
“A prophet is not without honor except in his native place
and in his own house.”
And he did not work many mighty deeds there
because of their lack of faith.

Leave a Reply

Categories

