Posted by: sisterbernice | August 6, 2010

need to refocus and recommit

The last two weeks have been somewhat hectic here.  I have not been as focused on Fridays as I would like.  SO, I’m making a pledge to recommit and refocus.  It shouldn’t be about doing.  I’ve just been doing my prayers lately.  And  today, I didn’t do – I didn’t abstain.  I could say I forgot but I didn’t.  I had a luncheon meeting and ate the meat.  Pray for me and with me as I refocus. Thank you.

Today’s readings are related to the Transfiguration as it is the Feast of the Transfiguration.  It got me to thinking.  How often do we forget God the Father?  I often think the Church is just about doing, like I said about myself, instead of being.  The Church “is”.  It doesn’t do.  The people do because we love God and our neighbor – but do we? or,  Do we do to do?  Is our creed social justice or is it GOD? Today’s readings remind me that it’s about GOD.  Jesus brought God into the World.  He didn’t bring social justice.  For some I just said blasphemy but he did not destroy the existing social and political order.  In fact he told people to live within it.  He told us about God and how to attain holiness and salvation.  He is the Way.  In giving us this path, we know that redemption will occur.  Do we believe  faith is that important or powerful -that being comes before doing?

In the second reading Peter reminds us of something incredibly important -he/ they were eyewitnesses to an event.  The event was GOD among us.  The event is Christ crucified.  Christ is Lord.  And as St. Paul tells us in other readings at the mention of his name, every knee in heaven and on earth will bend.

Justice is good.  The abused need justice.  In addition, Believe, faith will restore.

2 Pt 1:16-19:

Beloved:
We did not follow cleverly devised myths
when we made known to you
the power and coming of our Lord Jesus Christ,
but we had been eyewitnesses of his majesty.
For he received honor and glory from God the Father
when that unique declaration came to him from the majestic glory,
“This is my Son, my beloved, with whom I am well pleased.”
We ourselves heard this voice come from heaven
while we were with him on the holy mountain.
Moreover, we possess the prophetic message that is altogether reliable.
You will do well to be attentive to it,
as to a lamp shining in a dark place,
until day dawns and the morning star rises in your hearts.  found at http://www.usccb.org/nab/080610.shtml

I pray the usual prayers and refresh the link to the rosary here.

Leave a Reply

Categories

