Posted by: sisterbernice | November 5, 2010

allies

I confess to not understanding today’s Gospel reading – not really.

Jesus said to his disciples, “A rich man had a steward
who was reported to him for squandering his property.
He summoned him and said,
‘What is this I hear about you?
Prepare a full account of your stewardship,
because you can no longer be my steward.’
The steward said to himself, ‘What shall I do,
now that my master is taking the position of steward away from me?
I am not strong enough to dig and I am ashamed to beg.
I know what I shall do so that,
when I am removed from the stewardship,
they may welcome me into their homes.’
He called in his master’s debtors one by one.
To the first he said, ‘How much do you owe my master?’
He replied, ‘One hundred measures of olive oil.’
He said to him, ‘Here is your promissory note.
Sit down and quickly write one for fifty.’
Then to another he said, ‘And you, how much do you owe?’
He replied, ‘One hundred measures of wheat.’
He said to him, ‘Here is your promissory note;
write one for eighty.’
And the master commended that dishonest steward for acting prudently.
For the children of this world
are more prudent in dealing with their own generation
than the children of light.

But the more I think about it in relation to the sex abuse crisis, I feel confident if we don’t deal with the crisis in a spiritual way, no matter what we do, it will never be enough.  Let the truth come out.  But if we go around revising the history or making empty promissory notes, nothing changes.  What needs to change are hearts.  Changing hearts is not an easy thing.  And to what direction do we change them to heal this crisis.  There is only one place to turn.    Many victims marched at the Vatican.  They are dissatisfied with the Vatican response which seems not only not prudent but not spiritual.  But I think Fr. Lomabardi is right.  The only way to heal and prevent is to become allies.  That means bishops lowering their guard, and victims trusting.  It means both sides really trusting in Christ.  How do we make that happen?

I went to Eucharistic Adoration, am saying my prayers and rosary.  How about you? And, what is the next step?  Changing Church hierarchy, women’s ordination and the end to celibacy won’t do it.  Things like men and women being moral, holding others morally accountable, changing our sex saturated culture will.  Sounds like it won’t change the Church – but the abuse itself wasn’t about the Church, was it?  People are mad because of the “cover-up” – the same cover up that goes on every day in our local legal systems.  What we need is for men and women, not to abuse.  We cannot continue to use the legal system as prevention to any kind of child abuse – there is no prevention after the fact.

Leave a Reply

Categories

