Posted by: sisterbernice | December 30, 2010

Every lie is alien to the truth

As we approach the new year on the calendar, I think of all the resolutions I make that I don’t keep.  One of them is going to confession.  I should go but don’t.  I haven’t gone since I decided to go face-to-face for the first time.  I did so and the priest mocked me.  It took a lot of courage for me just to do the face-to-face and so I was only revealing small things on the way to bigger ones.  Of course, I never got to the “bigger” things and left the room without confessing.  Years later that priest was defrocked after he continually “stalked” a teenage girl whom he made sexual advances to.  I share this story because I’d like some who might read this to know that although not abused, I do understand the lack of trust.  I share the story to reinforce my need to make this resolution and follow through on it.  Confession is not about the priest.  I also share this story because we don’t hear of good bishops doing the right thing – only the ones who didn’t.  That’s why I don’t believe there is a conspiracy to cover-up.  No, just weak individual bishops or ones who didn’t know what to do.  That doesn’t excuse the cover-up, but is why I think  what I think.

Brothers and sisters, the above is a confession that I am a sinner. Pray for me.  I am also a believer, pray for me.  It is the new year and I will resolve once again, not only to go to confession but to live a truly Christian life. 

I’m posting on Thursday, instead of Friday because I won’t have internet access again until Tuesday.  I will not forget to pray tomorrow.  Tomorrow’s readings can be found here.  I chose the first reading because I found it the hardest to grasp.  The responsorial refrain is one of pure joy to me so I’ll repeat it — Let the heavens be glad and the earth rejoice! —and then here is the first reading to contemplate:

1 Jn 2:18-21

Children, it is the last hour; 
and just as you heard that the antichrist was coming,
so now many antichrists have appeared. 
Thus we know this is the last hour. 
They went out from us, but they were not really of our number;
if they had been, they would have remained with us. 
Their desertion shows that none of them was of our number. 
But you have the anointing that comes from the Holy One,
and you all have knowledge. 
I write to you not because you do not know the truth 
but because you do, and because every lie is alien to the truth.

As stated, I find this somewhat mysterious, but, I also see the abuser priest as one of the antichrists!  And the Church needs to take heed of the last two lines:  “I write to you not because you do not know the truth but because you do, and because every lie is alien to the truth.”

God bless and may you experience a joyful New Year

Leave a Reply

Categories

