Posted by: sisterbernice | February 4, 2011

I will never forsake or abandon you

While God created the Church and is present within the Church, the Church is not God.  God will heal, he will give justice but he will also have mercy.  His ways are not our ways.  Have faith in Him.

Today’s first reading is very important as is the Psalm.  Victims would answer the question in the first reading somewhat skeptically, maybe even bitterly – “The Lord is my helper and I will not be afraid – what can anyone do to me?”

Their answer would probably be  – people can do a lot to me.  All people who suffer can say that.  What is the purpose of suffering? And, how close is God to us when we suffer.  God is right next to the victims.  He is near all of us but especially those that suffer.  I can imagine that those who are hurt by priests and religious are especially closer than they think they are.  I imagine God has more mercy and tenderness toward them than any of us can imagine.   They have more grace given than we can possibly imagine. Embrace God’s grace even if you can’t embrace the Church, even if aren’t a victim. God is worth more than anything.

Today is first Friday – I went to Eucharistic Adoration, read the readings, said my prayers, abstained and send the rosary.  I hope all of us remember the victims of sex abuse – including the abuse against the Lord in our prayers tonight.  The first and second readings are below, the gospel on St. John the Baptists assassination is found at the site I always take the readings from – US Conference of Bishops site – say a prayer for them every time you visit.

Heb13:1-8

Let brotherly love continue.
Do not neglect hospitality,
for through it some have unknowingly entertained angels.
Be mindful of prisoners as if sharing their imprisonment,
and of the ill-treated as of yourselves,
for you also are in the body.
Let marriage be honored among all
and the marriage bed be kept undefiled,
for God will judge the immoral and adulterers.
Let your life be free from love of money
but be content with what you have,
for he has said, I will never forsake you or abandon you.
Thus we may say with confidence:

The Lord is my helper,
and I will not be afraid.
What can anyone do to me?

Remember your leaders who spoke the word of God to you.
Consider the outcome of their way of life and imitate their faith.
Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forever.

Ps 27:1, 3, 5, 8b-9abc

R. (1a) The Lord is my light and my salvation.
The LORD is my light and my salvation;
whom should I fear?
The LORD is my life’s refuge;
of whom should I be afraid?
R. The Lord is my light and my salvation.
Though an army encamp against me,
my heart will not fear;
Though war be waged upon me,
even then will I trust.
R. The Lord is my light and my salvation.
For he will hide me in his abode
in the day of trouble;
He will conceal me in the shelter of his tent,
he will set me high upon a rock.
R. The Lord is my light and my salvation.
Your presence, O LORD, I seek.
Hide not your face from me;
do not in anger repel your servant.
You are my helper: cast me not off.
R. The Lord is my light and my salvation.

Leave a Reply

Categories

