Posted by: sisterbernice | April 15, 2011

Friday #6: Heading to Good Friday

Good Friday is almost upon me.  It will be my final post.   I began this journey at the request of the Holy Father who in his letter to the Irish asked us to give up our Friday penances for this cause.  I have tried to be faithful to my task and hope that the Lord has made use of my meager offerings.

It never ceases to amaze me about how much of the sex abuse scandal gets its headlines on a Friday.   Today we were treated with pedophile Bishop Roger Vangheluwe from Belgium who obviously has not a clue about his evil sickness.  It is evil.  The acts of the pedophile abusive priests are evil.  We need to pray to help create a climate of belief that will penetrate hearts, minds and souls to stop it.  We also need to pray for healing of the physical, mental, emotional and spiritual terror this has caused in individual’s and families’  lives.

I don’t think the bishops are evil (unless of course they were the abuser. How much more does a bishop who is also the abuser have to answer!).  As I have said before, I find the bishops to mirror ourselves which is why we call for blood.  They looked the other way, hoped it would stop, passed the problem along.  How often do we do the same?  I am not after their blood.  If you are a believer, you either pray for their change of heart and direction so that you can see a reformed man or you pray and believe that the Lord will impose his justice.  The Lord has threatened those who harm the little ones.  How much more does the bishop have to answer!

Pray that bishops always have courage to do the right thing – it takes courage. Look at the bishop as you, as your brother – beg forgiveness for him.  He is us.

Don’t be offended by this last statement but think about the times you didn’t intervene in someone’s life, when you passed the problem off, etc.  I know I have. Pray for me.  And, pray for the offender.  Whether we like it or not,  God is love, his mercy and goodness are infinite.

I don’t know which reading to pick today to share.  All three have import.  They can be found here: http://www.usccb.org/nab/041511.shtml.  Given that this is the second last entry I will leave this as the contemplation for the day because it is personal to me and helpful to anyone who reads.   I offer the last two stanzas of the responsorial psalm (Ps 18):

R. In my distress I called upon the Lord, and he heard my voice.
The breakers of death surged round about me,
the destroying floods overwhelmed me;
The cords of the nether world enmeshed me,
the snares of death overtook me.
R. In my distress I called upon the Lord, and he heard my voice.
In my distress I called upon the LORD
and cried out to my God;
From his temple he heard my voice,
and my cry to him reached his ears

AMEN.

Leave a Reply

Categories

